The story of my illness. And also, the doctor’s office.

So, I’m at the doctor’s for a check up. This would also be a good time to tell you guys what it is that I’m here in the first place, yes? I think so too.

So, a long story short, I have been diagnosed with JIA. That’s an abbreviation for Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis. I was first diagnosed with this rare thing about a month and half ago. Juvenile means affecting someone who’s under 16 years of age, and idiopathic means without any known cause. So what I have, is an unexplainable arthritis for kids. That sucks, right? The look you’re given when people ask you what you have, and you reply with joint pain [because that’s what arthritis basically is, right? The definition in my science textbook was inflammation of the joints. You could look it up, though. (Also, it’s too much work explaining what JIA is. I’ve just stopped bothering telling people about it.)] is less than nice and I don’t like it. The reply I’m given, is always the same. “Joint pain? From such a young age?” Come on people, I didn’t fucking ask for this.

Moving on.

So, I have JIA and it sucks. It hurts to walk. I can’t even lift my biology textbook without cringing. It hurts to pick up a water bottle, but it is okay. Kind of. Not really. It’s sad. It makes me sad. I have monthly blood tests. The drug I’m on, it’s very strong. My haemoglobin, it has lessened in value drastically (it was low to begin with, 11.6, but now it’s 10.1). I’m tired always. I went out for a movie with my friends the other day, after which we ate food and hung around, and I felt tired for like two days afterwards. Another side effect of the drug, is nausea. I’m always nauseous. I was always easily nauseous, before the meds as well, but never this much. Ugh, it fucking sucks!

But I’m still okay. Like, I talk and hang out with friends, and go to my coaching classes. My school starts the following week, and I’m very excited for it. See, my point is, life is weird that way. I used to be one of the fastest girls in my class, but now I can hardly walk in a brisk manner. But, I’m still here. I’m still typing bullshit I don’t think anyone would want to read. Hehe. I’m still moving on with life. And I’m sorry, I intended for this to be a cool and inspiring post but it turned into me whining. But, I’m gonna finish this anyway.

See, the thing is, there are a lot of people before me in the line to meet the doctor. I’m very bored, and hence this post is created. Sorry not sorry.

Signing off before I kill you with any more bullshit,
XOXO

7 thoughts on “The story of my illness. And also, the doctor’s office.

  1. I used to love running, but since the past 18 months, my right knee has sprained, torn one of its ligament (twice) and made it a painful experience to climb stairs/sit on my stomach. Around a third of its time, I had issues with even walking, which renders you so very dependent on others. And yeah, I’m 16 too.
    Reading through your article, I understand how you feel, that you have to get on with your life despite all this stuff.
    Your problem seems more severe, but I believe with your attitude, you’ll overcome it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to love running too! In fact, I used to play quite a bit of sports.
      Yes, in the early stages I was confined to the bed. Both my knees had an effusion, which is basically an accumulation of fluid in the joint area.
      Thank you though, not everyone gets it. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’m on quite a lot of meds, and I’m already loads better than what I was initially. The doctors think I can get better very soon!
        I do too, haha! I go out a lot even though mom is like, “Take it easy!”

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa! Arthiritis! That’s bad, but I’m sure you can shrug it off with your positivity and belief.
    And doctor’s offices, those places are too boring to handle, even the TV there has those “health channels” which shows the same stupid crap over and over again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No ya, the TV showed some stupid channels which were either those mythical ones, in Hindi or in Gujarati, all too boring for me to handle!
      Thanks ya, that totally means a lot. šŸ™‚
      It’s a pretty rare disease so no doctor can say for sure, but everyone’s super optimistic. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

